How to Permanently Delete or Deactivate Your Instagram Account?

  • By Author

Of course, there may come a point when you wish to disengage from your social media networks permanently. People are deleting their social media accounts in more significant numbers than ever before to live a life less centered on online culture. 

The difference between the two alternatives is that deleting your Instagram account is permanent while deactivating your account is temporary and allows you to reactivate it later.

You must use a desktop computer browser or the web browser on your smartphone to delete or deactivate your Instagram account. It is not possible to do so through the mobile app.

Here’s how to manage both.

How to Permanently Delete Your Instagram Account?

  1. Open the Instagram website in a desktop or mobile web browser and sign in using your username and password.
  2.  After logging in, navigate to the “Account deactivation page.”
  3.  Select the reason for canceling your account from the drop-down box at the top of the screen.
  4.  After selecting your reason for deletion, you’ll be prompted to enter your password again. After that, click the “Blue Delete” [Account Name] button.

You will be required to explain why you are canceling the account. Instagram advises that it will take a month to wipe your data altogether. That will hide your account from public view until that time.

Deactivate Your Instagram Account Temporarily

  1. Navigate to “Instagram.com” in your browser (you cannot do this from the app).
  2. If prompted, enter your username and password.
  3. Click or touch on the “profile symbol in the top right-hand corner, the top right-hand corner, click or touch on the “profile symbol.”
  4. Select “Edit Profile” after clicking or tapping “Profile.”
  5. Scroll down and, to the right of the “Submit” button, tap “Temporarily deactivate my account.”
  6. They will question you as to why you are doing this. Choose one of the options from the drop-down menu.
  7. Enter your account password again.
  8. Temporarily Disable Account” should be clicked or tapped.

You can only disable your Instagram account once each week according to Instagram restrictions; you can only disable your Instagram account once each week.

How To Restore Your Instagram Account?

Remember that if it’s been more than 30 days after you asked Instagram to erase your account, you won’t be able to recover it. You’llYou’ll have to rebuild your account (your username will be freed up when you deactivate your account, but someone else may have it possible that someone else has grabbed it).

You can regain access to your account within 30 days by signing in again.

However, if you are inside that 30-day timeframe, you may reclaim your account. Return to Instagram and log in with your credentials. You’ll receive a notification stating that you asked that your account be terminated and the date on which they will remove your data. Click the “Keep Account” option to prevent this from happening.